March 2, Dr. Suess’ Birthday

image

..Which means that tomorrow, March 3rd is International Pancake Day, which also means Free Pancakes at IHOP pretty much all day long.  How do I know this?  I’m a pancake lova.  I have my mix ready to add the wet ingredients out on the counter; and as the husband pointed out: two eggs ready to be rolled onto the floor at 6:00 am by two curiously naughty kiddos (Thing 1 and Thing 2).  So if we make it tomorrow to pancake day, and the eggs are still on the counter breakfast will be awesome.  I mean; if the kids are all well behaved, get dressed, don’t wake up at 5, brush teeth, make bed, don’t complain, not fighting with each other….and the eggs are still on the counter…THEN we will have a good morning.

Number three has caught another little bug and is coughing again, poor baby.  And yes, I’m doing a homeopathic (she has no fever and is otherwise a healthy baby).  Since I’m also a nurse practitioner by profession I can’t ignore the goodness and validity oof western medicine.  Research has spoken: outbreaks have happened…cough cough…MEASLES.

Any-who.  The big kids were back in school today (I’ll refer to the school kids as “the big three”, and I think they all returned better than I left them.  The crankiness was lifted by the day’s activities and conversations with friends.  A dressed up Cat in the Hat greeted Nelly Belle as the husband and I dropped her off today.  She did look back at us like “WTH mom…you are leaving me here with this giant cat?????” But then turned smiled and went her happy way.

I’m thinking of a movie that was proclaimed as a big money waster movie “Story of Us”,  you know the one that was mentioned in Comedy Central’s Toast of Rob Reiner? Well I happen to love this movie.  In some tragic romance addiction that I have; I like to take the “hi-lo” scene of the movie where the entire family sits down and says their hi’s and low’s.  I have a friends who do this too when we are at their home for dinner.

But for ME tonight, the high was having a GOOD night.  The kids were well behaved, responded well to instructions, in proportion have more hugs and kisses than hits to each other.  The kids dined on a roasted chicken, with roasted carrots, sweet potatoes, and celery.  And asked for thirds.  Olivia completed her homework, and then went further to play school with her little brother and was working on his math skills (he is in pre-k, so these skills are still in VERY early stages).  But to just witness the brother and sister bond, how Olivia was being the quizmaster and Joseph the patient and willing student.  So awesome.  I’m sure Joseph’s teacher Mrs. Walter and Olivia’s teacher Mrs. Simpson have a lot to do with this.  So thanks.

The husband and I were able to complete a fabulous workout with each other earlier in the day; and I will salute him for how well we work together. Marriage says there isn’t a choice, but there must be levels oneness there are- and we….well, I hate to brag. But we are at the top of that scale.  We will have our off days and we joke about them.  I am graced to see him be world’s best dad, and did I see this coming?  Absolutely. Did I see how an amazing husband he was going to be? Yep.

So, I’m my fashion, I’m going to romanticize how awesome the day was in the big picture.  Yes there were  a few time outs, reminders on better attitudes, but there were also precious moments of young kiddos working together as a team,  visits from relatives through our open door, victories on our tennis courts (old and young!)  I’m totally excited for March 3, 2015.  Pancake Day!

With Love,

QuattroMom

Leave a Reply

